Acquisition project | Paytm Insider
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Acquisition project | Paytm Insider

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Elevator Pitch

​At Paytm Insider, we're dedicated to helping you discover and access the most exciting events around. From live sports, music festivals to stand-up comedy, theatre events, workshops, and so much more—we've got tickets to it all.

At Paytm Insider, we prioritise on your experience and make sure that you have fun. We know that when you share experiences with your friends or family, it becomes more valuable for you. Our aim is to bridge the gap between the event-goers and the ticket booking process which right now is quite inconvenient and fragmented. Our mission is to connect you with events you already love or new ones you're sure to enjoy, making the process quick and effortless.

So, let's come together and make every event an unforgettable memory!


Understand your Product

​Background:

When India's digital audience began to grow rapidly in 2014, when everyone started having a smartphone and internet, people who loved attending events started looking for digital solutions for event discovery and ticket booking. At that time, online ticket booking experience was fragmented and inconvenient. Especially, people had to resort to newspapers, radio & magazines to discover events. There was a clear need for a platform that could bridge the gap between event enthusiasts and a seamless, unified digital ticketing experience. Shreyas Srinivasan, the founder of Insider.in, sought to address these issues.

Insider.in was launched in 2014 to fulfil this vision. The platform quickly gained traction for its user-friendly interface and curated selection of events. In 2017, Paytm, one of India's leading digital payment companies, acquired a majority stake in Insider.in, leading to the creation of Paytm Insider.

Main Offering of Paytm Insider:


  • A wide range of events including music concerts, stand-up comedy, theatre shows, sports, festivals, workshops and other online & offline events.
  • Seamless event discovery & online booking process with safe & secure payment options
  • A user-friendly interface that helps users smoothly navigate through the app & website.
  • Exclusive offers such as early bird tickets, discounts, and loyalty rewards for regular users.
  • Listing both online & offline events to cater to different user preferences.

Customer Pain Relievers

  1. Paytm Insider offers an easy way to book tickets for both online and offline events happening around. The platform will save time & effort and make event booking easy & effortless.
  2. Event enthusiasts usually resort to newspapers and magazines to find out what events are coming up in their areas. But majority of events are not always listed on these places. Paytm Insider solves this issue by listing all the events happening in India so that the users can discover the events and choose which one to attend.
  3. When it comes to transactions, trust is a huge challenge. Since Paytm Insider has its own payment gateway backed by Paytm Payments Bank, transaction becomes more secure and trustworthy.
  4. Paytm Insider works directly with event organisers and artists. There's no need to negotiate with third party dealers. .
  5. Paytm Insider has a recommendation process based on user's personal choices, previously attended events, favorited (tapped on the heart sign) artists/events etc. users will get notified every time these events or the similar events are happening.
  6. Paytm Insider offers early bird offers, exclusive discounts for their marquee shows.

Understanding Core Value Proposition

1. What is Paytm Insider really in the business for?

Paytm Insider is dedicated to making the online event discovery and ticket booking experience seamless and hassle-free for users. Their mission is to transform event discovery and ticketing into an enjoyable process, encouraging people to explore new interests and participate in a variety of activities. As stated on their "About Us" page, they are the "enabler of fun."

Paytm Insider ensures that people who love attending events have a smooth experience when booking tickets for shows featuring their favourite artists. Beyond just ticket booking, Paytm Insider also emphasises the discovery of local artists, folk performers, theatre productions, and many other niche or not-so-mainstream events. This commitment enriches the cultural landscape and provides users with access to a diverse range of experiences that might otherwise be difficult to find.


2. What problem does Paytm Insider solve?


  • Event enthusiasts no longer need to switch between multiple platforms to discover new events; Paytm Insider offers dedicated pages for each event with comprehensive details.
  • Customers can find detailed event information—including descriptions, performing artists, timings, and locations—all in one place.
  • Users can effortlessly discover new artists and explore a wide range of shows without the hassle of searching for details elsewhere or waiting in queues for tickets.
  • The ticket booking process is hassle-free for both online and offline events, backed by Paytm's secure and efficient payment gateway.
  • Paytm Insider provides easy access to tickets for popular shows that might otherwise be difficult to obtain, reducing the chances of missing out on high-demand events.
  • The platform offers personalized event suggestions, keeping users informed about events that match their interests—including those featuring local and emerging talent.

3. Customer Benefits

  • Ease of Use: Simplifies the process of finding and booking events, saving time and effort.
  • Variety of Options: Access to a wide array of events across different categories and locations.
  • Secure Transactions: Confidence in the safety and reliability of payments and ticket delivery.
  • Personalised Experience: Tailored recommendations enhance user engagement and satisfaction.
  • Exclusive Deals: Opportunities to avail discounts, early access, and special offers.

4. How is the user currently solving this problem?

Before platforms like Paytm Insider, users typically:

  • Visited various websites or apps to find and book tickets for different events.
  • Depended on friends or social networks to learn about events.
  • Purchased tickets through physical outlets or less user-friendly online platforms.
  • Due to lack of awareness or difficulties in accessing tickets for certain events.
  • Experienced generic recommendations that didn't cater to their specific interests.

Understanding your ICP


For Event booking apps where users can book movie and event based tickets the different type of users that comes under the target segments are

  1. Casual Users
  2. Enthusiastic Entertainment Buffs
  3. Family People
  4. Corporate Event Planners
  5. International Travellers

Below are the detailed profile and problems identified in those segments



Details

Enthusiastic Entertainment Buffs

Young Casual Event Goers

The Family-Oriented Viewer

Corporate Event Planner

International Traveler

Demographics

Live in urban areas, Tier 1, Tier 2 cities.

Live in urban areas, Tier 1, Tier 2 cities.

Urban and suburban families

Corporate organisations

Foreign tourists

Gender

Mostly male

Male & Female

Male

Male & Female

Male & Female

A little background

They are mostly working professionals with disposable money. They regularly attend events depending on their artist/art form preferences. They are a bit of explorers of culture & festivals.

They are mostly either freshly employed or mid-level professionals with disposable money. They want to enjoy their time going out with friends, partying, eating out & meeting new people.




Marital Status

Unmarried / Married

Mostly Unmarried

Married

Unmarried/married

Unmarried/married

Income Range

1L - 2L per month

30K - 50K per month

2L - 3L per month

1L - 2L per month

3L - 4L per month

Need

  • Love all form of entertainments.
  • Prefer being first for all movies and events of choices
  • Love engaging with friends and enjoy activities outside
  • Days do not matter but events do.
  • Can also travel to attend events
  • Have preferences in going out, not always participating in every event.
  • Have personal choices on movies and events to attend.
  • Want to have idea what is going on
  • Prefer weekend activities more
  • Prefer family oriented events and movies
  • Kids & family choices over self.
  • Prefer weekend activities and movies
  • Not very frequent
  • Mostly corporate engagements
  • Bulk bookings
  • Activity first for teams
  • Can be movies or events
  • Always trending first than any personal choices

Local cultural experiences

Pain Point

  • Challenge of being notified first on every upcoming events and movies
  • For exclusive events finding the right tickets, seating on time.
  • Traveling becomes crucial for inter state events
  • Being the first day first show consumer
  • Difficulty in finding the niche events based on personal choices
  • Missing out on trending activities
  • Because personal choices are very niche finding the right events every time is a challenge
  • Preferred events are not always happening nearby
  • Not finding preferred artists on same platform
  • Travelling is a challenge
  • Not getting access to exclusive events due to late notifications
  • Cost is another factor for challenges
  • Lack of Family oriented events
  • Finding a suitable time for family for the events. Days and time becomes a challenge
  • Cost is a factor due to multiple ticket bookings.
  • Elderly and kids friendly support is not available at all venues or no clarity on the environment.
  • Complex booking process for corporates and bulk bookings
  • Difficulty in finding right venue and setting up
  • Arranging in time for huge team is crucial due to operation and logistics
  • Cost and potential discounts are not very clear and communication is back & forth with vendors.

Difficulty navigating Indian ticketing, limited foreign-language support

Frequency of Use Case

6-8 times per month

3-4 times in 2-3 months

1-2 events per month

Multiple large bookings per year

Seasonal, 1-2 events per trip

Level of commitment

Very high

Medium to high

Medium

Low

Low

Frequently Used Social Media Apps

Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Twitter, LinkedIn, WhatsApp

Facebook, LinkedIn, Snapchat, YouTube, WhatsApp

Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, YouTube, LinkedIn

LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter

LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat

Frequently used e-commerce apps

Amazon, Flipkart, Myntra, Swiggy, Zomato, BookMyShow, Paytm

Amazon, Flipkart, Paytm, Swiggy, Zomato, BookMyShow

Amazon, Flipkart, BigBasket, FirstCry, Swiggy, Zomato, Paytm

Not very relevant here

Global apps like Amazon, Airbnb, TripAdvisor

Frequently used OTT apps

Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, Disney+ Hotstar, Zee5, SonyLIV

Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, YouTube, Disney+ Hotstar

Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, Disney+ Hotstar, Zee5, YouTube Kids

Not very relevant here

Netflix, YouTube, Hulu, International OTT platforms

Income Spent On

  • Entertainment (movies, concerts, events)
  • Travel & Outdoor activities
  • Dining out
  • Shopping (fashion, gadgets)
  • Subscriptions (OTT platforms, music streaming)
  • Lifestyle products
  • Entertainment
  • Food and dining
  • Local travel
  • Savings
  • Commutes
  • Personal development (courses)
  • Fashion and accessories
  • Kids' school fees
  • Family's health & medical bills
  • Groceries & household items
  • Entertainment (based on family's preference)
  • traveling with family
  • local commutes
  • house help (if any)
  • Corporate budgets for team activities
  • Employee engagement events
  • Conferences and seminars
  • Travel expenses
  • Local experiences and sightseeing
  • Accommodation
  • Dining
  • Shopping and souvenirs

Purchase Behaviour for Events

  • Purchase based on artists, new events to explore, to visit different editions of one event etc.
  • Prefer early access to tickets
  • Willing to spend on premium experiences (VIP tickets, meet-and-greets)
  • High purchase frequency
  • Prefer online booking for convenience and early access
  • Influenced by friends & social media
  • They are cost-sensitive and looks for discounts/ early bird offers
  • plans ahead but sometimes do impulse purchases depending on peer pressure
  • Mostly books weekend events
  • Has limited budget
  • prefer events based on family's or kids' choice
  • Prioritises convenience & safety
  • Plan in advance, no impulse booking
  • cost sensitive since they need to book multiple tickets
  • Looks for offers, family packages, discounts on booking multiple tickets
  • Bulk bookings
  • Require formal invoicing and documentation
  • Seek corporate discounts
  • Need coordination with event organizers
  • Prefer customized solutions

- Look for authentic local experiences
- Prefer booking through familiar or trusted platforms
- Require English language support
- Need easy and secure booking processes
- Rely on recommendations and reviews

Why Choose Paytm Insider over other Platforms?

Paytm Insider offer

  • early access
  • exclusive events & experiences
  • trusted payment gateway, easy UI & notifications for upcoming events
  • Personalised recommendation of events via Push, In-App, Email etc.
  • Loyalty programs
  • Smooth booking process.
  • Listing of a wide variety of events, easy discovery
  • Affordable ticket options
  • Frequent Discounts, promo codes
  • Easy payment method that is trusted
  • User-friendly interface that makes the user journey smooth.
  • Personalised recommendation of events via Push, In-App
  • A seamless booking experience, even for multiple tickets
  • Listing of a wide variety of events catering to the kids and families
  • A secure & trusted platform
  • Ease of bulk booking processes
  • Dedicated corporate support
  • Competitive pricing and corporate discounts
  • Wide variety of events suitable for corporate outings
  • Trusted and secure platform

- Availability of local events with English descriptions
- Easy booking process
- Acceptance of international payment methods
- Secure payment gateway
- Responsive customer support

Typical Event Categories Attended via Paytm Insider

  • Music concerts
  • Stand-up comedy shows
  • Theatre and plays
  • Music Festivals
  • Workshops
  • Music concerts
  • Stand-up comedy shows
  • Local events
  • Nightlife (Parties, DJ Nights etc)
  • Kids' shows, theatre, plays.
  • Cultural shows suitable for kids and family
  • Educational workshops (science-based, historical, art exhibitions for kids etc)


  • Team-building activities
  • Corporate workshops
  • Conferences and seminars
  • Movie screenings for teams
  • Cultural and networking events

- Cultural festivals
- Music concerts
- Heritage walks and tours
- Theatre and dance performances
- Food and craft festivals

Customer AOV (Average Order Value)

High AOV

Medium to low

They buy multiple tickets, hence their AOV is medium to high

High (bulk booking)

Medium

Ability to Spend

High

Medium

medium to high

High (based on corporate budget)

High

Which feature do they value the most

Discovery of niche, local events
Access to a wide range of events
Discovering their fav artist events through search, home page & personalised recommendations

easy & seamless booking process

Trusted payment options

Discounts
Discovery/Search of popular events

Exclusive offers

easy & seamless booking process

Trusted payment options

Access to a wide range of shows for kids

easy & seamless booking process

Trusted payment options

Access to team building activities, workshops etc.

easy & seamless booking process

Trusted payment options

Discovery of local & authentic cultural events via the homepage
easy & seamless booking process

Trusted payment options

Shift Needed to Spend on Paytm Insider

Minimal shift required as they are already interested in events.

They are usually motivated by discounts. Hence, giving them special discounts on Weekends can motivate them. Also, they need easy access to the events they are interested in.

Need more kid-friendly shows / events listed on the platform.

Discounts on booking multiple tickets

Need for corporate-specific features; dedicated account management, invoicing options, and customised solutions.

Need for user interface in English, acceptance of international payment methods, and clear information about events to encourage usage among international travelers.

​

ICP Prioritisation


ICP

Revenue Potential

Frequency of Usage

CLTV

Ease of acquisition & retention

Priority Level

Enthusiastic Entertainment Buffs

High, they are regular event goers. They are willing to pay for their favourite artists or to explore a new event in town.

High

High, they are the loyal users as they are passionate about exploring niche, local events, various artists etc.

High, due to their social media presence and their love for events

High

Young Casual Event Goers

Medium to high, depending on the trends that their peers are following, the discounts, the availability of popular shows on weekends.

Medium

Medium

High, highly active on social media, influenced by trends and friends

Medium

The Family-Oriented Viewer

Medium to low. Their choice of events depends on their family's preference.

Medium

Medium

Medium - Require family-friendly events and clear communication

Medium

The Corporate Event Planner

High, they book bulk tickets

Low, infrequent usage, drop off due to unavailability of a large amount of tickets for corporates

Low (Low frequency, high drop off)

Low - Complex acquisition process with corporate-specific needs

Low

The International Traveller

Medium

Low

Low, due to low frequency, only seasonal availability of these segment

Low - Language barriers, complex payment methods

Low


Market Potential for online ticket platform


Market Sizing: India's online ticket booking market size includes service industry of Movies, Events & Corporates.

Looking at reference data points we see (ref to 2023 data from google)

Movies - Online segment annually generates INR 14,300 crore which 35-40% of total market(This mostly from Tier 1 and offline remain a significant portion from tier 2 and tier 3 which is heavy on offline sales)

Live Events - Live events contributes to the market in tune of INR 12,500 crore annually with 30-35% contribution from online.

Corporate Events - This segment dominates with INR 33,600 crore with 20-25% penetration in the market online.


Across all three estimated market size for online across ticket booking business is total -INR 60,400 crore or $8 Billion.

In current market penetration Bookmyshow 45-50% as leader in the space and Paytm Insider's market share stand at 25-30% so in terms of dollar value Paytm Insider can


The smartphone usage in India has significantly transformed India’s ticket booking landscape. With increasing internet penetration and smartphone usage, consumers are shifting from traditional offline methods to convenient online platforms. This market research aims to provide some idea with actionable insights to capitalize on this growing market.


The online ticket booking industry in India encompasses digital platforms facilitating the purchase of tickets for:

Movies

Live Events (concerts, festivals, theatre)

Corporate Events (conferences, seminars, workshops)


Some market trends that we have observed

- Rising Internet Penetration: As of 2024, India has over 800 million internet users, with a significant portion engaging in online transactions.

- Smartphone Adoption: Affordable smartphones have led to increased mobile internet usage, driving app-based ticket bookings.

- Digital Payments Growth: Unified Payments Interface (UPI) transactions have surged, enhancing consumer confidence in online payments.

- Post-Pandemic Recovery: The entertainment industry is witnessing a resurgence, with a pent-up demand for live events and movie-going experiences.

Let’s look into Market sizing for Paytm Insider, Utilizing a top-down approach, we estimate the market size through TAM, SAM, and SOM.


Total Indian Film Industry Revenue (2022): INR 40,000 crore

Average Ticket Price (ATP): INR 200

Estimated Total Tickets Sold Annually: 2 billion

Online Ticketing Penetration: 35-40%

TAM for Online Movie Tickets:

- Calculation: 2 billion tickets * 35% online penetration * INR 200 ATP

- Result: INR 14,000 crore


Event Industry Value: INR 12,500 crore

Online Ticketing Penetration: 30-35%

TAM for Online Live Events:

- Calculation: INR 12,500 crore * 32.5% average online penetration

- Result: INR 4,062 crore


Corporate Events Industry Value: INR 33,600 crore

Online Penetration: 20-25%

TAM for Online Corporate Events:

- Calculation: INR 33,600 crore * 22.5% average online penetration

- Result: INR 7,560 crore 

Total TAM: INR 14,000 crore + INR 4,062 crore + INR 7,560 crore = INR 25,622 crore (~USD 3.4 billion)

Considering operational capabilities and target demographics:

- Geographic Focus: Urban centers, Tier-1 and Tier-2 cities

- Demographic Focus: Internet-savvy population aged 18-45

Estimated SAM: 70% of TAM

- SAM Size: INR 25,622 crore * 70% = INR 17,935 crore (~USD 2.4 billion)

Realistic market share Paytm Insider can capture:

- Current Market Share: 25-30%

- SOM Size:

    - Lower Estimate: INR 17,935 crore * 25% = INR 4,483 crore

    - Higher Estimate: INR 17,935 crore * 30% = INR 5,380 crore


BookMyShow

- Market Share: 45-50%

- Services: Movies, events, Spots, activities

- Strengths:

    - Extensive partnerships with cinemas and event organizers

    - Strong brand recognition

    - Advanced technology platform

Paytm Insider

- Market Share: 25-30%

- Services: Spots, Events, experiences, movies

- Strengths:

    - Integration with Paytm’s ecosystem

    - Innovative event offerings

    - Competitive pricing strategies

TicketNew

- Market Share: ~10%

- Focus: Movie ticketing in South India

- Strengths:

    - Strong regional presence

    - Partnerships with local cinemas


Other Players

- Explara, Townscript, MeraEvents: Focus on niche events, corporate bookings

Competitive Advantages

BookMyShow

- User Base: Over 50 million monthly active users

- Technological Edge: Personalized recommendations, AI-driven analytics

- Exclusive Rights: Premier events and movie screenings

Paytm Insider

- Paytm Integration: Access to over 300 million Paytm users

- Financial Services: Seamless payment options, cashback offers

- Innovative Events: Curated experiences, virtual events during the pandemic


Consumer Behaviour Analysis of Users of the market 

Demographics

- Age: 18-35 years constitute 70% of online ticket buyers

- Gender: Male (55%), Female (45%)

- Location:

    - Urban Areas: 60%

    - Tier-1 Cities: Mumbai, Delhi, Bengaluru, Chennai, Kolkata

    - Tier-2 Cities: Ahmedabad, Pune, Jaipur, Lucknow

Psychographics of the users

- Interests:

    - Entertainment and leisure activities

    - Tech-savvy and digitally engaged

- Values:

    - Convenience and time-saving

    - Desire for new experiences


Digital Trends and Online Search Analysis

Google Search Volumes

Top Keywords and Monthly Search Volumes:

- “Movie tickets online”: 300,000 searches

- “Events in [City]“: 200,000 searches

- “Concert tickets India”: 80,000 searches

- “BookMyShow”: 1,000,000 searches

- “Paytm Insider”: 500,000 searches

Trend Analysis:

- Seasonal Peaks: Increase in searches during festival seasons and holiday periods

- Regional Language Searches: Growth in Hindi, Tamil, Telugu keywords indicating regional market potential


YouTube Trends

- Content Consumption:

    - Event highlights, artist performances, movie trailers

- Influencer Impact:

    - Collaborations with YouTube influencers drive event awareness

- Engagement Metrics:

    - High view counts and engagement on promotional content


Social Media Insights

- Platforms: Instagram, Facebook, Twitter

- Engagement:

    - Users follow event pages and artists for updates

    - Hashtags like #EventsInDelhi, #Concerts2024 #MusicFestival trending periodically

- Advertising:

    - Targeted ads show high click-through rates among the 18-35 demographic


What users are saying across Internet


Now let's dive a little into what people are talking about the brand.
I have segregated the reviews into few different buckets like Payment/Refund related issues, Listing/Discovery related issues, Customer Support Related issues & General/App related Issues

  1. Payment/Refund related issues

Refund 1.png

Refund 4.png

Refund 2.png
As we can see that the customers have complained about the refund process being delayed or not being processed. Here we have a scope to improve this refund process and increase customer satisfaction.


Customer Support Related Issues

CS 1.png

CS 2.png

Customer Support related issues.png
Here we can see that users have given 1 star rating and negative reviews as they have not been satisfied with the customer support. Here we can improve customer satisfaction through providing first-class customer support.

Other App Related Issues:

App related issue.png

Screenshot 2024-10-25 at 2.09.37 PM.png

Screenshot 2024-10-25 at 2.13.05 PM.png

In the above screenshots we can notice a mixed response regarding the app related issues. Some people said the filter system in the app isn't up to the mark while the other person has complained about a lack of payment options.

However, apart from these reviews, there are a few happy customers who have shared their positive experiences with Paytm Insider.
Here are a few screenshots
Positive revew.png

Positive review.png

Positive_review_event discovery.png
As we can see in the above segment, people have appreciated the quiz, smooth interface and uninterrupted booking experience as well as the educational event options and workshops.

Now Let's understand how people are discovering the app organically. Here are a few screenshot of organic & paid searches.

Paid Ads 1.pngPiad ads vs organic position.png

Screenshot 2024-10-23 at 1.52.17 PM.png

Based on above points on ICP, their pain points and reviews we understood that max potential for targetting is in casual and entertainment buff segment of users as they are the most retained, engaged audience base to build a sustainable growth business. The frequency of usage is also higher to go after based on preference and interests.


Let's deep dive more on the acquisition design for these segments.

Designing Acquisition Channel

CAC to LTV Ratio:

Since I do not have the data for CAC & LTV as I do not have access to the dashboard, I am assuming data from my past experience. For Paytm Insider, the CAC is roughly ​INR 200. As per industry benchmark, the ARPU, gross margin & Average customer lifespan is as shown below.

ARPU: INR 700

Gross margin: 80%

Average customer lifespan: 2 years

LTV = ARPU x Gross Margin x average customer lifespan

LTV = 700 x 0.80 x 24 = 13,440

Now CAC to LTV ratio = LTV / CAC = 13440 / 200 = 67.2

This shows a healthy CAC to LTV ratio. So, we can rely on paid ads for acquisition.

In the paid ads section, Paytm Insider heavily depends on Google Search, YouTube & Meta Ads. As it is in the Mature Scaling stage (pre-acquisition), we can focus on scaling the existing paid channels which are working for Paytm Insider.

Let's deep dive more -

What's working:


Google Search Ads: Google search ads are giving a high ROI as it is targeted for the high intent customers who are actively looking for event tickets, concert tickets & comedy show tickets.
YouTube Ads: YouTube ads help in discovery of events listed by Paytm Insider. Video ads are working well and giving a higher view.


Meta Ads: For different platform specific ads I have understood talking to target customer base and supply both are heavy Youtube and Insta users. Most movies and events are heavily promoted so to match supply and demand matching via ads to be done acquisition ads at Insta and Youtube ads over Google as primary focus of our Acquisition strategy will be awareness first and notifying right audience right events for them. Since majority of Paytm Insider's audience is in Facebook & Instagram, it is effective to run ads on Meta for easy discovery of events and increase ticket sales.


Since Paytm Insider is in mature scaling stage, let's take a different route for acquisition.

We will run Meta Ads for 2 cohorts to increase ticket sales, increase awareness about the upcoming events and to drive app installation so that users can experience better event discovery and a seamless booking flow.

From user interviews, I have identified that several users are not even aware that there's a separate app for Paytm Insider. They use Paytm Insider in Paytm App or the Paytm Insider website to book their event tickets online and remain unaware of a lot of events and end up having a broken experience as not all the events are listed/available there which are available on the app. Also, they do not receive regular push notification to get notified about the upcoming events which are streamlined as per their choices. Hence, to drive them to the app and increase app install for better booking experience, we can run an app install campaign.


We will use these 2 channels for acquisition

  • Paid Ad Campaigns on Meta & Google
  • Referral Program
  • SEO & ASO
  • Partnership with campus program & ambassadors

Meta Ad Campaign:

Cohort 1: Enthusiastic Event Buffs

Goal:

  • Maximise ticket sales for users who attend events frequently and are likely to attend 2-3 events per month
  • Drive app installs for users who regularly look for live events to attend
  • Driving repeat booking & loyalty by enhancing event discovery

Target Audience -

Demographics: 22- 35 years old, male mostly and live in metro cities (Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore)

Behaviour: Frequently attends live events, concerts, comedy shows, sports events, festivals & niche cultural events. Have a list of favourite artists/shows that they love to repeatedly book for.

Interests/ Motivations: Artists, Music concerts, comedy shows, theatre, festivals, cultural shows, workshops etc.

I will run 2 different ads for A/B testing the copies & call to action

Ad Copy:

Headlines:

Headline: Discover the best events in your city

Description: From live concerts to comedy nights, find the hottest events near you with Paytm Insider. Don't miss out on exclusive event access, book now!

CTA: Book Tickets

Ad copy

Option 2:

Headline: Love Live Music? Discover the upcoming gigs!

Body: Get access to live performances, music festivals, and VIP tickets. Book your next concert with Paytm Insider and never miss a beat!

CTA:

Download App

Ad Formats:

Carousel Ads: Showcase different upcoming events like concerts, festivals, or stand-up shows so that the users can swipe through.

Video Ad: 15-30 second clips featuring event highlights, artist performances, and crowd engagement.

Instagram/Facebook stories: Fast-paced, full-screen vertical ads with “Swipe Up to Book” options.

Artist Page Ads:

Since Enthusiastic Event Buffs are more likely being motivated by the artist choices, they are more likely to follow artist pages. In this case, if possible to get access to artist pages, we can run ads through them as well.

Metrics that I will track:

CTR : To understand how effective are the copies & creatives

App Installs: To measure how many installations happened after clicking the ad

CPI: To measure if the installation is costing high or low

Conversion Rate: To measure how many people are converting (Booking tickets / installing app) after clicking the ad.

ROAS: To measure the revenue generated versus the amount spent on ads.

Cohort 2: Casual Event Goers

Goal:

  • Increase awareness and interest among the casual event goers who attend events occasionally and aren't the regular users.
  • Convert the casual users into frequent event goers by promoting the popular events, discounted shows and giving them a smooth & seamless booking experience

Target Audience:

Demographics: 25 - 40, Living in Tier 1 & Tier 2 cities

Behaviour: Attends events occasionally, especially on weekends with friends. influenced by recommendation from friends. Do not actively look for events but likes to attend.

Interests: Social outing, popular artists, popular events, festivals, movies etc

Ad Copy

Option 1:

Headline: Your Weekend Plans? Sorted!

Body: Find exciting events near you – from comedy nights to movie screenings. Book on Paytm Insider and enjoy a 10% discount on your first booking!

CTA: Book Now

Ad Copy

Option 2: Headline: A Special Weekend Plan with 10% Off

Body: Whether it’s a movie night or a stand-up show, Paytm Insider helps you find and book events easily. Use the app for exclusive discounts

CTA: Download the app

Ad Format:

Image ads: Simple images that shows group activities or a night out with friends at a live music event or a comedy show. This will highlight the ease of booking through paytm insider app.

Discount Banner Ads: Highlight the special offer like 10% off on your first booking in a banner ad that will attract casual event goers who are sensitive to price.

Google Universal App Campaign

Primary goal: Increase app installation

Secondary Goal: Increase event ticket sales and user engagement through the app.

Target Audience:

    • Custom Intent Audiences: Target users searching for event tickets, music concerts, or movie screenings.
    • Retargeting Ads: Target users who visited the website but haven’t installed the app yet.

Ad Copy:

Headline should focus on what people are missing if they are not installing the app. For example:

  1. Never Miss An Event
  2. Get Exclusive Event Tickets

Description will focus more on why it is important to download the app. Also, it will emphasize on the fact that exclusive events are available only on Paytm Insider app.

For example:
- Download Paytm Insider for exclusive access to tickets for music concerts, sports events, and live shows near you!

CTA: Install Now / Download Now

Landing Page: Google Playstore / Apple Store app installation page.


Primary Metrics to Track:

For Ad Campaigns our primary metrics to track will be App Install/Campaign & ROI


Referral program:

What I am trying to achieve through the referral program?
Primary Goal:

Increase app installs so that users have a better discovery of events which cannot be achieved through website or Paytm Payments App. Better curated push notifications, streamlined recommendations and more categories of events like Theatres, Workshops, Local & Niche music concerts, comedy shows etc will help the event-goers more active and they will never miss an event that they might fall in love with

Secondary Goal:

Increase brand loyalty of the existing customers that will lead to a higher retention.

Target Audience:

Demographic: 25 - 40 years old, frequently attending events (2-3 times per month)

Gender: Male & Female

Interests: Music Events, Comedy shows, festivals, specific artists, theatre, festivals, cultural shows, workshops etc.


Referral Flow

Referral Primary Goal:

- Increase App Installs and User Engagement: Encourage existing users to refer new users to the Paytm Insider app, leading to more app installs. This will enhance event discovery through personalized push notifications, streamlined recommendations, and access to a wider range of events (theatres, workshops, niche music concerts, comedy shows, etc.), making event-goers more active and ensuring they never miss events they might love.

Secondary Goal:

- Boost Brand Loyalty and Retention: Strengthen the loyalty of existing customers by rewarding them for referrals, which will lead to higher retention rates.


Strangely Insider don’t have any active referral program or any nudge from Paytm app also. This creates vaccuum space  for a in depth referral process building. Let’s look into it -


Referral Flow 

User Interaction Points:

- After Successful Ticket Booking:

  • The user experiences an “Aha!” moment due to the smooth and successful booking process.
  • Prompt the user to rate the app.
  • If the user gives a 4 or 5-star rating, prompt them to refer friends.

- For Exclusive Events:

    - Upon booking an exclusive or high-demand event, trigger the referral prompt to capitalize on the user’s excitement.

- Active Users:

    - Users who have completed at least 2 transactions in a month (data shows that such users have higher retention and love for the app).


Referral Process can be implemented:

- Easy Sharing:

    - Provide the user with a unique referral code or link.

    - Enable sharing across multiple platforms (WhatsApp, SMS, Email, Social Media).

- In-App Tracking:

    - Create a dedicated referral dashboard within the app where users can track the status of their referrals (number of invites sent, installs, successful bookings, rewards earned).

- Gamification:

    - Implement a progress bar or achievement badges to motivate users to refer more friends.

    - Introduce leaderboards showcasing top referrers, adding a competitive and brag-worthy element.


Motivation and Rewards:

- For Referrer:

- Tiered Rewards System:

            - 1 Referral: 30% discount on the next ticket booking (up to ₹100).

            - 3 Referrals: Free ticket for an event of choice (up to ₹250).

            - 5 Referrals: VIP access or exclusive merchandise (e.g., event T-shirts, memorabilia).

        - 10 Referrals: Free couple ticket to a premium event or festival (up to ₹1,000).

- Platform Currency (“Insider Coins”):

    - Earn “Insider Coins” for every referral, which can be accumulated and redeemed for tickets, discounts, or exclusive experiences.

- For Referee (New User):

- Welcome Offer:

            - Flat 25% discount on the first ticket booking (up to ₹100).

    - Bonus “Insider Coins” upon signing up and completing the first booking.


Strategies to Increase Average Referrals per Person

Incentivize Multiple Referrals:

- Tiered Rewards: Offer increasingly attractive rewards for more referrals.

- Limited-Time Challenges: Introduce time-bound events (e.g., “Refer 3 friends this week to unlock special rewards”).


Make Referrals Easy and Appealing:

- One-Click Sharing: Integrate with popular messaging and social apps for effortless sharing.

- Personalized Messages: Allow users to customize referral messages to add a personal touch.


Leverage Social Networks:

- Social Media Integration:

    - Users can invite friends directly from their social media contacts.

    - Encourage users to share their event bookings and experiences with embedded referral links.


Gamify the Experience:

- Challenges and Quests:

    - Introduce referral challenges (e.g., “Refer a friend who books a music event to earn extra rewards”).

- Achievements and Badges:

    - Unlock badges for milestones (e.g., “First Referral,” “Event Enthusiast”).

As we build the referral program, tracking and engagement is crucial to make things happening for user and metrics outcome.

Referrer Tracking and Engagement

Referral Dashboard:

- Real-Time Updates: Show the status of each referral (invited, signed up, booked).

- Rewards Summary: Display earned rewards and progress towards the next reward tier.

- Activity Timeline: Visual representation of referral activity over time.


What are the benefits of having the Paytm Insider app as opposed to the website or the Paytm super app?

  1. Enhanced discovery of upcoming events in various categories through push notifications. Paytm App doesn't allow frequent push & nudges on its primary app and hence it will be limited only to 2-3 Pushes per week that will not be enough to notify the user about all the upcoming events the user is more likely to attend. Hence, having the app will help the user be aware of all the marquee as well as niche events that are going on their city.
  2. More categories are listed in the app than in the Paytm super app. Also, since majority of people book tickets through mobile devices, it is easier to access through the app.
  3. Paytm Insider app gives a much smoother & seamless navigation. So, it is easier to use for the event-goers.


Organic Channel

Screenshot 2024-10-25 at 3.56.12 PM.png

Screenshot 2024-10-25 at 3.56.12 PM.png

Screenshot 2024-10-25 at 3.54.50 PM.png


Organic Search Results

Here I have searched with certain basic high intent generic keywords to find out where we stand as opposed to our competitors.
Here's the result:

Keywords

Paytm Insider

BoookMyShow

Eventbrite

online event ticket

2nd Position

None

1st Position

music concert tickets

3rd Position

1st Position

None

events online in bangalore

2nd Position

1st Position

3rd position

buy tickets for cricket match

2nd Position

1st Position

None

buy tickets for music concert

3rd Position

1st Position

None

buy event tickets online

2nd Position

1st Position

3rd Position

book event tickets online

2nd Position

1st Position

None

upcoming events near me

2nd Position

1st Position

3rd Position

live events near me

2nd Position

1st Position

None

comedy show ticket booking

2nd Position

1st Position

3rd Position

From the above ranking, we can understand that BookMyShow, the core competitor of Paytm Insider has won the top position in most of the organic searches. Hence, we need to focus more on the SEO to get the top rank.

SEO Strategies

  1. More detailed Event Page: Create EDPs with content that includes artist biographies, venue information, and event FAQs.
  2. Enhancing location-specific content by focusing on city-based event pages for terms like "events in Bangalore" or "cricket match tickets in Mumbai".
  3. Encourage local bloggers or influencers to link back to specific event pages or city event listings to strengthen authority for local searches.
  4. Checking the site performance, especially page speed so that there is low bounce rate.
  5. Optimize for High-Intent Keywords: Paytm Insider should focus heavily on high-conversion keywords like "buy tickets for [event]" or "book [concert] tickets online." This requires:
  • Optimising meta descriptions, title tags, and headers around these high-intent terms.
  • Creating event-specific landing pages that match the search intent more closely than general event pages.

Primary Metrics to Track:

For SEO our primary metrics to track will be Organic Traffic Increase to Install %


ASO Strategies:

  • Keyword Optimisation: High Intent Keywords: Increased use of primary keywords which are more high-intent and related to events. For example: event tickets online, book event tickets, upcoming events near me. We can also use location specific keywords such as "events in Mumbai" , "comedy shows in Delhi", "live events in Bangalore" , "concerts in kolkata" etc.
  • Artist Specific Keywords: Focus on using artist specific keywords for popular artists whose gigs are coming up. These keywords need to be updated as and when there's a new gig coming by a popular artist. for example "diljit concert ticket" "zakir khan show booking" etc.
  • Visual optimisation through app icon, screenshots & videos: We will use clear & recognisable app icons which people can easily understand. Screenshots & videos of the most popular events, images of exclusive events, videos of popular artists in the app store / play store. Users who find recognisable artists are more likely to install app.

Additional steps: Bug fixes and app updates: As per the reviews, people have faced issues with refund &

Primary Metrics to Track:

For ASO our primary metrics to track will be App Install/Traffic

Partnership program:

Few other acquisition channels we can try out for Paytm Insider which can be cost-effective and impactful. Here are 2 of them.

College Ambassador Program:

Why this program will work?

Through this program we will target the young college going audience who are a key demographic for live events, music concerts & comedy shows.

This program will promote organic word of mouth marketing through the ambassadors. They will promote the events through social media channels, WhatsApp (1:1 & 1 to many). Peer recommendations are powerful.

Ambassador programs are comparatively cheaper than the traditional marketing efforts. Ambassadors can be easily compensated with free event tickets, merchandises etc.

How to implement this program?

  1. Connecting with college ambassadors: Listing down popular colleges and connecting with college ambassadors and asking them to promote Paytm Insider through social media, campus events, posters, and direct word-of-mouth marketing. They can be given exclusive promo codes or referral code to drive ticket sales and app installs.
  2. Rewards: Based on the number of tickets sold, there will be tiered rewards like free event tickets, VIP access, merchandises, meeting the artists etc).
  3. Collaborate with student event committees to offer discounted or exclusive event tickets for campus fests, sports events, and cultural shows.

Outcomes:

  • Increased brand visibility among the college going population.
  • Positive association with major campus events.
  • Tapping into a potential customer base which can have a long-term association.


Niche Micro-Influencer Marketing:

Why: Micro-influencers have a niche audience which is highly engaged. Their audience rely heavily on their recommendations. Influencers who are creating content in the entertainment, music and lifestyle spaces can help Paytm Insider connect with the right audience.

What to Offer: Partner with local urban influencers who have loyal followings in specific regions. They can promote exclusive ticket discounts, live-stream behind-the-scenes of events, and create engaging content around upcoming events. For ex: Work with YouTubers or Instagram influencers to do event vlogs, and show how seamless it is to book tickets on Paytm Insider for concerts or comedy shows.


Conclusion:

In this acquisition strategy, I have focused on two most important cohorts

  • Enthusiastic Event Buffs
  • Casual Event Goers

Through Paid channels, referral programs & partnership programs, we will create a robust acquisition strategy. Also, with the help of SEO & ASO we will target more organic traffic so that we can convert them to loyal customers with less cost.

After implementing the acquisition strategy, we need to continuously keep optimising to get more conversion and increase ROI and thus sustainably increase market share of Paytm Insider as opposed to its competitors.







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